Thread: electric reel for weak right hand?

Question electric reel for weak right hand?

Anyone here have experience with electric reels? I've permanently lost about 50% of my right hand strength and am right handed. If you've used or seen one used, could you post your thoughts here?

I'm wondering if my halibut fishing days are done. I hope not.

Anyone know of a halibut charter where they have electric reels that clients can use?

Thanks.

I have no experience with them, but They cary a prety good stock of them at B&J's commercial in anchorage. They are good about telling you the plus and minus of each.
    It ain't about the # of pounds of meat we bring back, nor about how much we spent to go do it. Its about seeing what no one else sees.

http://wouldieatitagainfoodblog.blogspot.com/

Bread and Butter charters in whittier uses electric reels. My friends been out with them and confirmed it.

Default Electric Reels

A friend of mine is in the same boat you are. He has two. I don't know what models but they work great. He actually puts the rod in the holder and then hits the button. Its really easy and he can still get his fish. So to answer your question No your halibut days aren't over. Swing into BJ's and talk to them they will get you set up. Hope this helps
    KLICKMAN

I used to run 6 Miya electric reels out of Valdez. I stopped using them except when people had medical problems. There are a few problems with the reels. The first is they are heavier than a normal reel. Second they are noisey. It is harder to hook fish as you do not have good control. The electra mate uses a pen reel and usually is the cheapest. I see where Diawa is making some new light electric reels. Best place I have seen to buy the reels is Ebay. A good friend of mine is missing 1 arm and 1 leg and does good using the reel. On the Miya you just press a button. You can auto up or wind it up by holding the button. What ever you close good luck and good fishing.