Thread: Got Coyote...Now what?

Question Got Coyote...Now what?

OkÖ so I am new to coyote hunting. I have been reading all of your post for the last few months and I have caught the coyote bug! I went and got a couple of calls and practiced. I am all geared up and ready to go. I just got one question and will probably sound real stupid to most of you, so please donít laugh me out of here.

Once I finally get a coyote, what are you guys doing with it? I know coyote hunting is pretty much predator hunting and not game hunting (for the meat). So, are you guys just skinning the animal and getting the hides tanned? Or do you sell the furs? I could see putting a couple of pelts on the wall, but after 2 I would not know what to do with them.

Do you guys tan your own hides? Or do you take them to a taxidermist? What about the carcass? Do you skin it at home or in the field and leave the carcass?

Please forgive my lack of knowledge, but I figure I have to start somewhere. Thanks for any of your help.

I remember when I first contracted the calling bug, I had a post almost verbatim. Then after many years of persistance I finally bagged a predator. My advice to you is don't worry about afterward details. It's bad mojo for to count the chicks before they hatch, atleast that's how it goes for me.

But since you asked...... I have skinned coyotes in the field and it was a frigid experience. Unless you have uber experience skinning animals take it home and skin it in the garage where it's warm. I would only skin a predator in the field if I couldn't carry the pred in the round. I'm much more patient at home when my warm fingers are holding a sharp knife for hours on end. In the field, not so much.

My two coyotes are tanned by taxi's, and my wolf is being rugged. After my second coyote I lost the interest to bag another one, but that thoguht quickly vanished when I saw one run across a field last weekend.

Good luck and post some pics if you bag one.

interior Alaska