Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 25-06 vs. 243

Default 25-06 vs. 243

I'm fairly new to the world of long range shooting. I was looking into a long range shooting riffle for those yotes that hang up 600-800 yds from being call shy. Does anyone have any input as to which riffle between these two or maybe another that might be able to reach out and touch these buggers? I'm shooting a 22-250 now and I think 600 yds is about the max isn't it? I'm shooting a 52 grain Sierra HPBT Match King.

Mike

I know 6.5 x 284 is very popular for the LR applications, but range finders & adjustable scopes (a scope that you can count on for precise clicks for elevation adjustments so you can dial in the proper elevation for the shot. Target turrets at the least so you aren't fumbeling with caps in the wind, snow, & cold) are the real key for this type of shooting.
    Don't have the tables here but I think the 25-06 would be the winner over the 243.
    Vance in AK.

Matthew 6:33
    "But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you."

25-06 without question
    A GUN WRITER NEEDS:
    THE MIND OF A SCHOLAR
    THE HEART OF A CHILD
    THE HIDE OF A RHINOCEROS

The 25-06 is definitely the more potent round. If you're hoping to make 800 yd shots on yotes, you'll need a good scope with elevation and windage turrets or mil dots or cross hatches. A 25-06 will be very much affeced by wind at those ranges. You'll need some good drop charts or balisitic sofwre you can take to the field. Check out the Long Range Hunting site, there's a ton of good info there.

Quote Originally Posted by MikeGSP View Post