Thread: Hi from Australia

Default Hi from Australia

Hi guys, Watto here from Qld Australia, I am a new pilot here and fly a Jabiru J230 which is made not far from where I live.

Happy new year

Default Grizzly 1

Quote Originally Posted by Watto View Post
    Hi guys, Watto here from Qld Australia, I am a new pilot here and fly a Jabiru J230 which is made not far from where I live.

Happy new year
    WELCOME ABOARD and HAPPY NEW YEAR, Watto. Hey . . . . . what does a Jabiru J230 compare to? Don't think I'm familiar with that machine. Is it considered a STOL airplane?

Stick with these Alaska Bush Flying guys. They're both amusing and enlightening.

Grizzly 1

G'day Watto,
    Welcome to the forum. I had an opportunity to ride the motorcycle around your country over a couple of our Winters. Great place with friendly people. I'm currently flying a Cub powered by a Jabiru. Tell the boys there at Jabiru to keep up the good work. Look forward to your input here at the forum.

Default Hi Grizlly

The J230 would be considered a light sports aircraft, it is pretty slippery and has an easy 120kn cruise and have had mine out to the vne 140kn with a tail wind without even trying.

You can have a look at www.jabiru.net.au and see the company web site.

Default hi windy point

I will say hello to the boys at Jabiru when I am down there next week, its good to hear about our aussie engines in other parts of the world.

What is the cub made of ? is she cloth, I am told there are a lot of rag planes in Alaska and Canada I guess they are easy to repair and nice and light.

regards
    Watto

Default Grizzly 1

Quote Originally Posted by Watto View Post
    I will say hello to the boys at Jabiru when I am down there next week, its good to hear about our aussie engines in other parts of the world.

What is the cub made of ? is she cloth, I am told there are a lot of rag planes in Alaska and Canada I guess they are easy to repair and nice and light.

regards
    Watto