Thread: Why so much water?

Eagle River, AK

Default Why so much water?

OK, I'm a noob to ice fishing.
    We tried fishing Otter lake a few days ago and there was a ton of slushy water buried under the snow.
    Clearing away the snow to drill a hole we were in about 3" of water. There was still about 12" of ice under us but shouldn't it all be frozen?
    More importantly, is it dangerous?
    If not, do you drill the hole and then repack snow all around the holes?
    Sorry for the silly questions from the noob.

Default Overflow

What you are experiencing is called overflow. This happens for a number of reason: The weight of the snow pushes down on the ice forcing the water up through openings such as warm springs or even ice fishing holes; maybe there is a creek flowing into the lake and flowing over the top of the ice; it is sometimes caused by winter rains. The snow on top insulates the water and prevents it from freezing.

Generally it is not dangerous or hazardous, BUT... here are a few cautions:

If riding a snowmaching through overflow on a cold day, this will get into the track suspension and freeze up, thereby disabling you. If landing with a ski plane, this will freeze to the bottom of the skiis, thereby either generating much drag or freezing the plane down to the lake. Sometimes there will be layers of ice and you never know when you break through one layer what is underneath.

These recent snows likely will increase/hide the overflow problem, so expect to find more and more. But, because we had such an early freeze and so little snow, I am expecting that most of the ice under the overflow will be sound. There are always exceptions however.

So, in a nut shell, be cautious, but go fishing. If you are drilling where others have drilled, you shouldn't have any problems.

Knik-Fairview, Alaska