Thread: .416 Alaskan Express or 416 ruger

Default .416 Alaskan Express or 416 ruger

I hear Arctic Gunworks up in Fairbanks has a line of wildcats based on the WSM case and was wondering if anyone here is using them. If so what do like or dislike about it? I'll either rebarrel a 270wsm to this wildcat caliber or perhaps send in the 300wm for a 416 Ruger tube, any input? Thanks.

Josh

I have some experience with the 416 Alaska Express and a slightly modified 416 Ruger. The Ruger announced recently as a factory round, will differ slightly from my creation.

The 416 WSM or AK EX is a very nice round ballistically. It should offer reduced recoil with the 350 grains at about 2350. I did the load development for Gary's Alaska Express calibers and like them alot, I especially like the 416. In guns that are designed to feed the WSM cartridges, such as your 270 WSM they work great, it is difficult to adapt them to a Mauser ot model 70 that was designed for the 30-06 or even the belted mags. In the Montana WSM action or the Sako WSM action they are great with no modification needed.

The 375 Ruger case is difficult to adapt to any action. My Sako A-V action was otiginally a 338 Win Mag and it works without modification but that is the only action I've seen work without mods. The long magnum (H&H) action will work with a change out of the follower usually.

The 375 Ruger case has greater capacity than the WSM case but less than the 416 Remington. Even if the shoulder is kept full length and necked to 416, it will not quite equal the 416 Remington, close but not quite, more of a beltless 416 Taylor, plus. A good set of ballistics, for sure but not 400's at 2400 fps. The WSM will be 150 fps below the Remington.

So it depends on the action you have and what you want in a 416. Everything is a compromise. The WSM could be made up in a short and handy 20" gun with enough fire power to take on big bears in heavy cover. The Ruger woul have to be slightly longer.