Thread: Fall 2009 Moose hunt

Default Fall 2009 Moose hunt

Hello,
    I'm planning a moose hunt for 2009. I've looked at Bay Air, hunting out of the Wood Tikchik area, 40 Mile Air in the Yukon Charley area, and Circle Air in unit 25A. Anyone ever hunted with Circle Air? What about the other two?

I'm an Alaska resident, I've done float hunts and drop hunts. I can't decide which method I prefer. Float hunts tend to be more work, but you get new scenery around every corner. Then again, drop hunts can be challenging too if you have to walk far to find game. Any thoughts?

My number one concern is getting a nice bull moose (50" or better, nothing crazy, not looking for a record book, just a decent bull). And I want to be remote. I'm thinking about spending 10 days in the field, I can spend a few more if necessary.

Which of the areas I've mentioned provide the best opportunity to hunt moose? Are there better places and different Air Taxis you'd recommend?

Thanks for the help.
    -bobble

Bobble, I would prefer the float option, however, you are apt to run into more hunters. Finding a good topo will allow you to explore many of the good ponds near the river. Like anything else, it's hunting. You may run into a nice bull close to the river which makes hauling it out that much easier. How many in your party? Good Luck. Mooseman17

mooseman,
    2 people in my party, but we'd only get one moose (one is enough for our household).

Have you heard anything about 25A for moose? What about Circle Air?

thanks,
    bobble

Default 25a

will cost you, Circle Air is a crap shoot, you never know who is going to show up to fly you, Good Frenchy or Bad Frenchy. Id Call Bob at Wrights air service, I think is is charging 3500 per person to the Sheenjek river, a good area for big moose. The Christian River is over looked as is Windy Creek, might be cheeper from Coldfoot for Windy Creek.

AK,
    Thanks for the info. Know anyone who flies out coldfoot?