Thread: PRB Questions

Default PRB Questions

I am going to work up a round ball load for a new muzzleloader, and I was wondering if there are any tips, tricks or things to look for. It will be for a 58 cal and 1:48 twist- I am hoping to use 777 and #11 caps, but I dont know if there is any advantage to using musket caps over a certian charge of powder, different types of material or lubes for patches etc..... Any help would be appretiated.

i'm no expert by any means, but one thing that will tell you a lot about your load is what the patch looks like after you have fired it. if it is badly scorched you might want to either use a thicker patch or less powder.
    everybody says that different rifles like different loads, even if the guns are essentially the same....
    i am sure brownbear will have some advice for you, i seem to recall he has a .58.
    Alaska Board of Game 2015 tour... "Kicking the can down the road"
    http://www.alaskabackcountryhunters.org/

Quote Originally Posted by aknewbie View Post
    I am going to work up a round ball load for a new muzzleloader, and I was wondering if there are any tips, tricks or things to look for. It will be for a 58 cal and 1:48 twist- I am hoping to use 777 and #11 caps, but I dont know if there is any advantage to using musket caps over a certian charge of powder, different types of material or lubes for patches etc..... Any help would be appretiated.
    It's a bit of a guess without knowing the specific make of your ML in addition to barrel twist, as well as the preferences of an individual rifle.

A good round # is to go with a .570 ball and a .018 lubed patch. It may seem a little tight when you start it, but a whack on a short starter should do the job. But as a rule of thumb, tighter will always be more accurate.

I'm betting too, that 3f 777 will be more accurate than 2f 777, but that's pure guesswork based on my very limited experience with 777 in the caliber.