Thread: Buying a New Rifle, Stainless or Blued Steel?

Default Buying a New Rifle, Stainless or Blued Steel?

Hey everyone,

I was wondering if you could give me your advice. I am getting ready to do some big game hunting this coming spring for the first time in Alaska and was needing to buy a bigger caliber rifle. I have only used a .270 throughout my life hunting in Utah, but wasn't hunting anything bigger than elk.

I am looking to buy a Browning .325 WSM X-Bolt, but didn't know whether to spend the extra cash to get it in a synthetic stock and stainless steel barrel. Given the weather conditions here in Alaska, is this the best idea or can I save some money and get the wood stock with blued steel barrel and still have the rifle hold up well?

I appreciate your thoughts,

I have no experience with the .325, as far as finish goes you'll find you can't beat stainless synthetics given the weather conditions we have up here. If you find yourself hunting along the coast stainless is the way to go.

I honestly dont have anything wood in the safe. The few extra bucks will pay off in the long run.
    We do not go to the green woods and crystal waters to rough it, we go to smooth it. We get it rough enough at home; in towns and cities; in shops, offices, stores, banks anywhere that we may be placed

Default absolutely

stick with stainless steel and synthetic stock here in AK. far too much moisture here regardless of whether or not you are hunting along the coast or inland.

you can check the swap and sell forum for a good deal on a new or used rifle, but i think a .270 in SST/synth would do all you need because shot placement is the key. that said, i am a hypocrit and altho i own a couple SST/synth .06's i recently bought a used .300 win mag in stainless with synthetic stock from the forum. i wanted a not-so-nice mag to use in AK because the .338 mag (blued/wood) i already own has too much sentimental value to possibly ruin or lose!

good luck and have fun shopping