Thread: Cantwell or paxson?

Default Cantwell or paxson?

Lets say you've got a 3-day weekend with some buddies and sleds. Would you say go to Cantwell (up the Denali Hwy) or to Paxson (again, Denali Hwy) for some ptarmigan? I'm well familiar with the areas both, but just recently acquired snow machines. I'm leaning toward sledding in from Paxson because I know I can get on birds quicker there. Any suggestions?

Also, how about finding those wintery pearl birds up near Lake Louise? Anyone had any luck with sno-go's up there?

Any info is appreciated. I'm new to the whole snowmachine thing...

Mark

Quote Originally Posted by Cast&Blast View Post
    Lets say you've got a 3-day weekend with some buddies and sleds. Would you say go to Cantwell (up the Denali Hwy) or to Paxson (again, Denali Hwy) for some ptarmigan?.........I'm leaning toward sledding in from Paxson because I know I can get on birds quicker there........Also, how about finding those wintery pearl birds up near Lake Louise?.......
    My experience is that this time of year they're found at 3,000' (treeline) and above in willow thickets. I've never seen them around Lake Louise.

I've never bird hunted the Cantwell end. I think it's hit harder than the Paxon end, and just never fooled with it. Maybe it's time I checked it out.

I've seen great hunting nearer the Paxon side and near the middle of the highway.

Lets say you've got a 3-day weekend with some buddies and sleds. Would you say go to Cantwell (up the Denali Hwy) or to Paxson (again, Denali Hwy) for some ptarmigan? I'm well familiar with the areas both, but just recently acquired snow machines. I'm leaning toward sledding in from Paxson because I know I can get on birds quicker there. Any suggestions?

Also, how about finding those wintery pearl birds up near Lake Louise? Anyone had any luck with sno-go's up there?

Any info is appreciated. I'm new to the whole snowmachine thing...