Thread: Kenai Outfitter or Guide

Default Kenai Outfitter or Guide

I am going to be up in Alaska in May of 2009. I would like to do some fly fishing. I am really a beginner and was wondering if anyone knew of a person our outfitt that specializes in kind of beginner type fishing.

Thanks.

Default May

What part of May are you going to be here? It might be a little early, I think most guides start running in June. I don't know of any guides that specialize in beginner type fishing, but any reputable guide will do his best to put you on fish, and to help you catch fish too. I have never used a guide on the Kenai, but have heard D-Ray mentioned almost every time people talk about guided trips. A few of my friends have used him, and have nothing but good things to say about him. His website says his trout trips run May-Oct. Good luck, hopefully someone on here will have a better suggestion for you.

Jake

Most of the flowing waters of the kenai river watershed do not open untill around june 11th. There is king fishing down at ninilchik, anchor and deep creek. Lake fishing is open. The upper kenai, quartz creek are closed untill june 11th and i believe crescent creek is closed untill 1 july. I believe the mid river is closed to trout/dolly fishing as it should be too. I dont have a copy of the new regs yet but the kenai is always closed to protect the spawning trouts
    Grandkids, Making big tough guys hearts melt at first sight

Don't forget the Kasilof and lower Kenai are open for king fishing in May. I know it's not trout but it's hard not to pass up other fishing opportunities when you're up here.

The kenai river isn't a good fly fishing destination until mid june, when trout season opens and the sockeye begin to show up...
    There is some fly water open in May up north of here in the Mat-Su Valley (check with some outfitters out of Talkeetna, Wasilla, Willow, etc.)