Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Scary moments on the water? How did you handle it? (flips, rapids, equip failures)

Question Scary moments on the water? How did you handle it? (flips, rapids, equip failures)

I am new to rafting and getting ready for my first class III river. The wife and I are floating the Kongakut in ANWR in mid June. Tell me what can go wrong and what to do about it. I would like to draw on your experiences if I may. I heard about highsiding, but don't fully understand what it entails. What if you flip or get thrown out of the raft? What if the wife gets thrown out and I am behind the oars? How do you pick your line through technical sections of whitewater? What do you look for and what are you avoiding at all cost? I am very eager to hear how experienced oarman handle such situations?
    The two loudest sounds known to man: a gun that goes bang when it is supposed to go click and a gun that goes click when it is supposed to go bang.

Why not go on a nova raft trip or two this year? They do an excellent job of explaining things to you and I am sure would be invaluable as prep for your trip. Their trip on the Matanuska is a great starter run to get you and your wife comfortable.

My aunt learned the hard way to hold onto something inside the raft on that trip. She was only holding the rope around the side which made for a perfect fulcrum! We hit a bump and suddenly she went backwards over the side feet straight up in the air head in the drink. We pulled her back up right nearly instantly but the experience sure seemed to quell her excitement some!

Quote Originally Posted by LuJon View Post
    Why not go on a nova raft trip or two this year?
    Wish we could, but we are working on an island 30 miles off the coast of Cape Cod. We will fly to North Carolina (home), pack our gear, and fly up for the trip. Not ideal, but it is what it is. What I learn between now and June will be from you guys and a few books I ordered from Amazon