Thread: help my throtle is stuck wide open

Default help my throtle is stuck wide open

So a friend and I went to Hatchers pass toaday and it was great, nice wether, ok snow and clear. We made it a few miles, just short of the mountains and my throtle stuck wide open.

I am new to snowmachines and have no idea what the problem is.

The sled is a 99 RMK 700. All stock with v force reeds. Can some one help me out here.

I had this happen a couple years ago. I was out riding with a buddy at -20. I was on my '02 Summit 700. That sled in order to get it to start I always had to hold the throttle in as I pulled it over. Well I got stuck, shut it off. Got out and went to start it and hold the throttle wide open. Like a champ it started first pull and shot out like a bat out of hell. Running wide open down a gully up the other side and out of sight.

All happend to fast that I just looked at my buddy and shrugged my shoulders and hopped on with him and followed the tracks for about 1/2 mile. Sure enough it found the first spruce tree it could find. It was about 2 feet around and stopped it dead in its tracks. Many trips to snowmobile salvage and 2 weekends in my buddy's shop we had it back to normal. The thing has a tether switch but I never used it until after that . Now I do. HAHA!! Anyways it happend again the next year. Finally narrowed it down to the carb slides sticking wide open when the temps dropped to -20 or colder. Expensive lesson to learn. Glad you didn't have a runaway sled like I did though.

Iced throttle cable would be the first guess...might try to get some methanol into it somewhere. Then replace the cable.

Default Slides, I'll bet!

Just a leetle bit of condensation in the carbs due to a cold snap and they will stick in the carb cylinders. They pull up, but won't go back down. I smashed in the door of my wife's car this way one time.