Thread: Spring v/s fall for a brown bear bowhunt?

Default Spring v/s fall for a brown bear bowhunt?

I'm new to this sight but I've dreamed of hunting Alaska all my life so I thought I'd join and hopefully learn something about hunting the state I've dreamed of hunting all my life. I'm looking to try to draw and book a Kodiak brown bear hunt and would like to hear some opinions on why fall is better for bowhunting v/s spring hunt. I'd like to hear why you feel one is better than the other. Most outfitters have told me fall is best but a couple of the premier outfitters on Kodiak have said it does not really matter, that spring can be just as good as the fall even if your at it with a bow. Your input would be greatly appreciated!

I'm pretty new myself, but if remember correctly, if you're looking for a nice hide, spring is the time to hunt. The bears are pretty groggy in early spring so they may be less alert and easier to get close to. In the fall, they are on the move quite a bit to bulk up for the winter.

I'm sure someone who knows more than me will comment soon.

Fairbanks most the time, Ancorage some of the time,& on the road Kicking Anti's all the time

Quote Originally Posted by WIsam View Post
    I'm pretty new myself, but if remember correctly, if you're looking for a nice hide, spring is the time to hunt. The bears are pretty groggy in early spring so they may be less alert and easier to get close to. In the fall, they are on the move quite a bit to bulk up for the winter.

I'm sure someone who knows more than me will comment soon.
    LOL i am sure glad you said that last line...

Don't count on EVER finding a groggy Bear..Never, Never EVER...Spring gives you a longer coat...

fall gives you a full one. and fatter bear.

spring bear taste better.

LATE fall taste ok....
    both blk and Brn...

Never underestimate a bear They are by far the most intelligent North American animal you Will HUNT... both species...