Thread: Soon to be newbie looking for experienced opinions

Default Soon to be newbie looking for experienced opinions

I'm currently researching kayaking. I've little experience but I am interested in purchasing a kayak to bum around the Prince William Sound. Ideally, I am interested in putting in near whittier and pulling over night(s) trips to some of the calving glaciers.
    I don't own anything yet and will be looking into some used equipment.
    I plan to buy a drysuit for scuba diving so i'll have it for kayaking also. Originally I planned to get a long sea kayak (touring) but have heard that some have no problem using shorter recreational kayaks in the ocean. Is this reasonable or one of those "it can be done in theory" kind of things?

Any thoughts, comments or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

I'm no sea kayaker, but I do know that longer boats are faster and take less effort to paddle distance. You CAN do a lot of things, but...

Default Sea Kayaks

Jim, you are right,, you can paddle a longer Kayak faster with less energy than you can a shorter kayak.
    Also.. the plastic Kayaks can be slower than a glass kayak.
    Many folks prefer the plastic Kayaks over the Glass because of cost and they bounce off objects with less damage.
    But Plastic boats will scratch up and those scratches will cause resistance.
    If you are going for long several mile aday tripping, in the ocean, I like a kayak at least 17 feet long.
    This way I can put enough gear in to camp and stay for several days, and the kayak can be loaded to maximize displacement.
    I myself don't care for tandem Kayaks.
    I like my own boat..
    I never go out alone anymore.
    Learn deep water rescue techniques.
    and join the local Kayak and canoe club.
    There are some great helpers in local clubs.
    Ask advice on equipment from several sources before you buy.
    Don't let the salesman at the store convince you of what you need.