Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Predator Rifle

Default Predator Rifle

Im new to predator hunting and have been mainly using my 12ga,but my calling isnt that great so I cant seem to bring em in close enough for scatter gun.So im looking for a good bolt action predator rifle. Ive been most interested in savages model 10 predator hunter in 243win,But would like some advice or imput to see what you guys are using.thanks

my son uses a stevens 22-250, and I carry the 12 ga. Stevens is now made by savage I believe. It was around 270$ at sportsmans. I didn't want to get all that expensive with a calling gun since it's usually getting beat through the brush, snow,and machines.

Default rifle

I have two of them. I have a DPMS with a 24'' fluted bull barrell in a 204 and a stevens model 200 in a 22-250. TO the stevens I put an after market trigger "basics" and a BSA 4x16 power scope on it. I painted the stock white on the stevens and to be honest I looks bad ***** I think. It gets looks at the range and people think it is was an expensive rifle. It shots well at inch or so with the new trigger. When I go out calling I will pick the stevens 90 percent of the time. I got 299 in the rifle about 90 in the scope and 150 or so in the trigger. It is a great and light rifle to carry. The DPMS is a great rifle and shots great, but it is heavy. It weights 11 lbs.

I have friends that have the big heavy bull barrel rifles. I cant stand them. I hike my rifles more than I shoot them and cant see a good reason to pay more money to make it more uncomfortable to sling over my back. I use a 17 HMR Savage bolt action and there are no wolves where I hunt right now I will be building an AR in the future for them. It cost me $219 and I got a $20 gift certificate with the purchase.

Default pred. shooters