Thread: Food-hold, Killer-style, or snares?

Default Food-hold, Killer-style, or snares?

I'm new to trapping in Alaska, so I'd just like to hear what y'all have to say about the types of traps you like to use. Do you prefer to use mostly snares, because they're lighter and cheaper than other types, or do you use foot-hold traps and conibears for effectiveness? I'm mostly interested in trapping fox and lynx right now, but I'd like to get into all of the furbearer species eventually, so all ideas are welcome. Thanks!

Barron

PS - Here are a few other questions I have:

- How often do you check your trap lines?
    - On average, how many sets do you usually have in a line?
    - Do you mark your traps in any way? If so, how? Flagging tape, signs, GPS?
    - Do you post signs to warn others about your trap lines? I don't think the regs require this, but the idea makes sense to me.

For k-9 and cats I found that snares are easiest to keep working in freeze thaw situations, and their light and inexpensive. I check my sets every other day normally, but if the weather gets really warm, I check every day. The number of sets depends on where you are, my lines are close to home, so I usually do a few lines with 10-15 sets per. As far as posting a sign, this could go both ways, it could keep people away, or be an invitation to look for your sets and steal them. It's pretty much a crap shoot.

Thanks for the input. The reason I asked about how often you check your sets is because I'd like to go set some traps this weekend in an area about 2 hours from home in Anchorage, which means that I wouldn't be able to go check them again until next weekend. Of course, this has the potential to see a trapped animal sitting with his foot caught in a trap for about a week. I'd feel guilty about it, but I'm not sure if there's another option for someone who wants to trap while living in Anchorage. Any thoughts?

Barron