Thread: Favorite 45ACP Powders

Question Favorite 45ACP Powders

After searching in vain for bulk 45ACP I ordered dies. I have a huge pile of once fired ACP and just (back)ordered some of the Rainer Leadsafe RN 230gr. I don't know what powder to get and I am looking for your favorites. It would be a plus if I could also use it for 45colt or 454, but it is not required. So lets hear the opinions...

Greetings TN...

I'm relatively new to loading the 45ACP, but I have loaded over 500 rounds of it. The powder I've been using is AA#5. It's a spherical powder that meters well through the powder bar of my Dillon.

I use W296 in my 454 and 44.

Good luck with it.

Doc

Quote Originally Posted by Doc View Post
    Greetings TN...

I'm relatively new to loading the 45ACP, but I have loaded over 500 rounds of it. The powder I've been using is AA#5. It's a spherical powder that meters well through the powder bar of my Dillon.

I use W296 in my 454 and 44.

Good luck with it.

Doc
    Thanks Doc!

I've burned a lot of Win 231 in my .45 ACP's.

There are lots of good powders for the .45 ACP. I've had good luck with all of these:

Bullseye
    W231
    HP38
    Titegroup
    AA #5
    Unique
    Red Dot
    700x

Default Bullseye!

Bullseye is my choice. It takes so little per round that a pound lasts a very long time! Only caution is watch out for double loading with powders like Bullseye since the case will hold enough for 5 or 6 rounds, you would never know by looking that one is doubled up.

If in doubt . . . dump it out, and recharge it.

Andy

Chalk up another for good old WW231. Alliant Power Pistol for the hotter loads.

Default 45 ACP powder

W231 for me also. I use it in all my pistol loads, except for hot 45 colt loads, then its H110.

Jake