Thread: Suggestion on where to scavenge antlers

Default Suggestion on where to scavenge antlers

Hello, I'm new to Anchorage (new to Alaska for that matter) and I'm interested in hiking. I just bought some snowshoes and thought if I'm going to break them in why not do it where i may run across moose antlers. Sounds like beginning of Jan is the when but where should I be looking? Any suggestions would really be appreciated.

I would look where the moose was when his antlers fell off.

Default well

I would suggest putting those snowshoes to good use and exploring a bit. Find some resources and learn about where moose like to hang while they are replenishing fat reserves.

The last thing we need is 400 forum members out running around wintering moose. This is a crucial time for the survival of moose. The best time to look is actually in the spring, all of the antlers are on the ground, days are longer, moose have moved to summering areas and you can still snowshoe.

Default ...

...and usually in spring there is less snow so you can actually see the small bones on the ground...whitepalm never finds small ones, so this does not apply to him

There was an article in the Anch newspaper about all the bull moose up on powerline pass, but that was in Nov. Might be a place to look.
    Rather than post here and scare all the other members who might be antler scavengers.........call F&G and tell Rick Sinnot how much of an animal lover you are and ask him for suggesstions on shed hunting.
    I can't help being a lazy, dumb, weekend warrior.......I have a JOB!
    I have less friends now!!

I must say, thank you for educating me about moose. I had no idea that this was such a critical time. Here I am new to alaska totally oblivious to the plight of the moose. I had no idea that my presence could endanger them. I'm almost afraid to leave my home since they hang out just beyond my front door.
    Theres 1600 in the anchorage bowl, theres plenty for everyone.

Default moose