Thread: What brand of 223 ammo?

Default What brand of 223 ammo?

I am starting to get into the "Black Rifle" category and wonder what ammo you are shooting. I am putting together an AR15, when I get the kit, and am looking at the different brands of ammo. Is steel cases OK, as in Wolf or should I stick with brass? Wolf seems to be the cheapest but not sure about reloading the steel case. I have some reloading experience but no expert. I plan on setting up for target shooting and varmint hunting. A buddy has had good luck with Wolf for reliability and accuracy but doesn't reload. Any comments appreciated. Thanks, Mark

I did not find Wolf to be all that accurate. It did cycle well with few jams. The other options are a lot more money though.

Use the steel cases for plinking and practice but use the brass for reloading. Don't even bother trying to reload the steel, they just are't worth the bother.

90% of the problems we have seen in ARs or other semi autos, including blown barrels, blown extractors and the like have been with Wolf ammo.

Default 223

hello, I am a wood and metal kinda guy, started with a dpms match rifle about a year ago.
    Wolf /privi partizan ammo, great, I shoot paper at 100,200 yards, sub minute of angle with the 75 grain and 62 grain, about 1.25 plus with the 55grain. Rifle twist is the reason.
    Here is the deal, Wolf Polymer is great, it is cheap and it works. The steel case works fine in the match chamber, same results with similar bullet weights. Now , calculate the cost of 223 brass for reloading, add that to the cost per round of the unreloadable berdan steel, and you will probably come close to the boxer primed brass mil spec you can buy bulk, get it?
    THE MOST IMPORTANT POINT.......BUY AS MUCH AS YOU CAN AFFORD OF THIS AMMO RIGHT NOW!!!