Thread: License Draw Question?

Default License Draw Question?

I was wondering if someone could answer a question for me. I am getting ready to put in for the draw but realize one problem. I am still currently a non resident. I will be a resident in June of 09. I want to put in for the 2009 fall hunts ( goats sheep).

Can I put in as a resident because I will be a resident before my hunt starts? Or do I have to put in as a non resident still because at the time of application I was a non resident?

Thanks for your help and good luck in the draws!

Default Res-Nonres

To apply for permit hunts you must have an Alaskan Hunting License, valid for 2008, or the upcoming year 2009. At the current time you can not obtain a resident license. So, if you have purchased a nonresident license in 2008 or for 2009, then you can submit a drawing application now.

I purchased a 2008 hunting license. So when I go to apply do i put in as resident or non resident? Thanks for the help.

Quote Originally Posted by wy2ak View Post
    I purchased a 2008 hunting license. So when I go to apply do i put in as resident or non resident? Thanks for the help.
    Call F&G and ask the question to them. Please let us know what they say though!

I had called ADF&G on the same question for a friend of mine who will not be a Resident until Feb 09. The guy at F&G told me that if he is a non resident and holds a non resident license then he has to apply for the non resident tags. He told me that the license that they hold at the time of application is what they have to put in for because when you apply for it the computer recognizes that you are a non resident at that time. To me it makes no sense because he will be a resident by then and should be able to apply for the resident tag. Your best bet is to call them because I have found alot of conflicting stories between the guys at ADF&G, one will tell you one thing and then another one will tell you another so who do you believe.