Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Good Afternoon from Iraq

Default Good Afternoon from Iraq

Good Afternoon everyone. I'm currently an officer in the U.S. Army, and deployed to Iraq. I have 18 months left in the Service, and after that, I plan on leaving the military so I can pursue my lifetime passion for flight. Ultimately, I plan on moving to Alaska, and and doing some real flying, in the bush. Any advice you all may have for a new comer, would be appreciated. Still working through my license, got deployed right as I was about to finish.

Just want to thanks much for your service! Are you planning on pursuing flight commercially or are you just planning on it being a personal hobby?

Thanks for your service and I hope you finish your tour successfully.

I am by no means a master bush pilot, but if you want to fly in the bush I will give you a few things that helped me. I knew before I even flew one hour I was going to fly in the bush. So throughout all of my flight training I concentrated on what skills were important for bush flying. An example being I would always try to hit my spot on landing even if that meant a not so smooth landing. I always tried to get the plane off the ground as quickly as possible and learned the performance perimeters of the plane at different weights and environmental conditions. These are examples of skills that you have to master in order to stay out of trouble. Sometimes trouble finds you regardless, but that’s another story.

Read all you can about bush flying, books, internet, etc. They will not take the place of experience but they will help you to see the mistakes others have made and give you some helpful hints that you can incorporate in your flying.

Get advice from experienced bush pilots and take some off airport training. Even when you think you have a good handle on things you can always learn more.

Last but not least, practice, practice, and practice.

Hope this helps.

Shane

Default Flying In Alaska