Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Anti's

Default Anti's

Trying to get a feel on what I should do about some anti's. I've been trapping an area for about 5 years and only see an occasional snowmachine traveling through. This weekend, some wacko x-country skiers came through and found my snares. They stole 2 of them (left me a note stating as much) and closed the remainder of the snares they found. The snares were pretty easy to find since they were set on my snowmachine trail. I pulled the snares off my snowmachine trail thinking these fools might be back, and was just going to let it pass, but today I was back there and noticed the wolves came through last night. I now feel these tree huggers got the last laugh (along with the wolves). Should I notify the Troopers or let it pass and consider it a lesson learned.

Default troopers

Adam it sounds as though you have been using the area and been mostly alone for 5 years, which means your well off the beaten path. I say contact the troopers, not much they can do about it, but they do need to know about it. And then go up and set it up again.

What did the note say?

Unfortunately your probably not going to get the action your looking for from the troopers, but you have to do your part and at least make a report and then see what happens.

I'd report it as well. You never know, this may not be an isolated incident and they may already have some suspects. Good luck.
    Alaska, the Madness; Bloggity Stories of the North
    http://cloud9doula.wordpress.com/

Does this shotgun make my butt look big?

Definite report. Don't expect justice, but as the police accumulate such reports, if there is a pattern developing they will be able to see it. And if they have the note, they will have some evidence that can be used if the perps are ever caught.
    Winter is Coming...

Go GeocacheAlaska!

-report it the the troopers in case the dude starts bragging about stealing traps in letters to the editor or something stupid