Thread: Crimping 300wsm and recipes??

Default Crimping 300wsm and recipes??

I'm fairly new to this addicting hobby and have loaded 300wsm's. The manuals (speer and hornady) both say that you should crimp all magnum loads and esp hunting loads. I ran into several guys at the gun shop that said thay have never crimped a rifle round and it is a wasted step. I tend to be a gospel guy and believe the books, but these guys said it really wouldn't matter and have never in the 50 years of reloading have they had a bullet back out?? Am i correct in saying that a bullet that has a cannelure needs to be crimped or are the old timers correct?? I am leery of these guys cause they also said the first thing they do to their dies is toss the directionscause they say their way is better for adjusting and setting.

Also does anyone have some good recipes for the 300wsm the are willing to share??i'm using a tikka t3 lite.

I've tried imr4831 with 180gr hornady soft points

Any input or advice would be helpful. Thanks!

The best luck I have had with 300 wsm was following the directions in the Barnes reloading manual. Basically the same as the others, but when you get the bullet to the length that you want, pull the seating plug back out and with your bullet up in the seating die, loosen the lock nut and screw it down until you feel it hit the neck of the bullet. Lower the load and give the die 1/8th of a turn more. Raise your bullet back into the die and lower the seating plug until it touches the bullet and tighten its lug nut back down. This will create a natural crimp for loads like you are talking about.

For loads, I use CCI 250 primers, 65 grains of Reloader 19, and 180gr Barnes TSX bullets. They group really well with my gun under this load.

Hope this helps.

SwampView AK, Overlooking Mt. Mckinley and Points Beyond.

Default That's a purty good question