Thread: Newbie here

Default Newbie here

I just discovered this forum a few days ago when researching rifles. I am impressed by the amount of great information posted here, and the courteous replys.

For a little background on myself - Kalispell, as most of you know, is a very gun-oriented area. I have been lucky enough to know some of the folks involved in the trades here.

I knew Mel Smart, who developed the laminated stocks that Serengeti Arms now makes, graduated high school with Brian Sipe of Montana Rifle Company, have been friends for many years with Les Bauska, the oldest practicing barrel maker, Jim Baier of Halfmoon rifle company, Jerry Cunningham, Ken Howell, and others.

I also count Jerry Fisher & Tom Burgess as friends.

What drew me here was gathering data, opinions, and loads for a .375 H&H. I was lucky enough to acquire a very nice Classic model 70 Super Grade in 7mm Magnum, and even luckier in getting Conrad Gerega to work the action over and install a SS Winchester barrrel in .375.

He trued the action, reworked the rails to allow 4 shells in the magazine, opened the action a bit, and glass bedded the action.

Since the SS barrel came with sights, I put on a leupold VXii 3-9x in Leupold QR mounts.

My first reaction to shooting it was liking the lack of kick. I know the 10.5# weight helps, but it is far more pleasant to shoot than my Ruger 77 in .338 with either the factory or the McMillan stocks.

Now I am working up loads for it. I plan on using the rifle for everything from Whitetails on up, and would like to stick with the 270 grain Nosler Partition bullets. (I love the 210 Noslers in the .338 - great results!)

Does anyone have a pet load they would care to share, or tips on reloading this great old cartridge?

Thanks in advance, and thanks for this great forum.

Jim

Default Welcome Jim!

Jim,