Thread: 44 mag primer needed for all 44mag loads?

Default 44 mag primer needed for all 44mag loads?

I am loading some Berrys 220 gr. fp bullets into 44 mag brass. I have both Unique and H110. It looks like about 9 grains of Unique is what most charts show but is a large pistol mag primer needed. It looks like they only recommend it if I use the H110. Does it hurt to use them with the Unique? Berrys recommends not going over 1200 fps with the 220 gr fp which kinda limits me with the H110 as most are over 1200 fps. All I have loaded so far (I am pretty new to this) is 44 special with about 6.3-6.9 gr Unique with the Berrys and Oregon Trail lazer cast 240 gr L-swc which I really like. I used cci large pistol primers for these. I would lie to try the H110 but I think with the bullets I have it might produce to much fps? Not really sure but definatly don't want to screw it up,thats why I am asking for a little advice. So, any good 44 mag loads with Berrys 220 gr fp or OT lazer cast 240 gr L-swc. The powder I have is Unique and H110. Thanks for the help.

I expect you could do 1200 fps with H110 with starting loads just dont go lower than listed data.

Also be careful switching primers sometimes it may cause more pressure especially with faster burning powders like Unique.
    "You have given out too much reputation in the last 24 hours, try again later".

You may get 1200 with the unique, I'm not sure but I would NOT load H110 any below recomended loads. Personally I would go with a different powder like 2400 or blue dot either of which can be loaded up or down without problems. There are other powders that would work as well. These are two of my favorite with less than max loads.

I only use regular Large Pistol Primers with Unique.

I don't shoot much 110, but do use 296 and only use Magnum Large Pistol Primers with it.

Edit: this is for the .44 Mag. in question.

I use H110 for full power loads and Trail boss for plinking.