Thread: Twisted Limb (?)

Default Twisted Limb (?)

I'm new to the bow so I'll try to explain this so it makes sense...I recently bought an Implala Recurve from Cabelas. On the ends of the limbs where the string attaches there is a grove maybe 4-6 inches long that the string rides in. I didn't notice until recently that when I pull back and release, the string on the top limb is out of it's grove. I push it back in, pull and release and it's out again. I tried re-stringing and it still does it. With that explanation, does it sound like the top limb is twisted? Thanks in advance, Robert

Yes, it's twisted. It most likely happens when not properly strung with a bow stringer or it may have been resting against something or something rested on it for a long period of time. Easy fix. Turn the bath tub on hot and stick the limb tip (unstrung) under the water for a few minutes until it's hot to the touch. Grab the tip and twist it away from the side of the bow that the string gravitated to. Don't be timid. Let the bow completely cool down and restring with a bow stringer. Sight down the string from one tip to the other see if the tips line up. Give it a draw and check for string alignment. Repeat until the string tracks in the grooves. Never attempt to sting it if it's still hot.

Palmer Alaska

When you say pull and release you don't mean "dry firing" the bow or shooting without an arrow do you? Seems weird a new Impala would have a twisted limb.
    BHA Member
    Bowyer to the forces of light in the land of the midnight sun.
    The 3 fold way: Every step we take as we walk through life effects, our family, our comunity and ourselves. One should walk thoughtfuly.

You do indeed have a twisted limb. Time to send it back.

Thanks fellas, I may try the hot water fix but I'm leaning towards kgpcr suggestion. I figured it must be twisted but wanted to confirm. I have/use a stringer and would never "dry fire" any bow.