Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How many pins?

Default How many pins?

I'm a newbie to bow hunting (but not hunting)

I'm putting together a bow that I will use mainly for caribou but also Black Bear.

My question is, how many pins should I get on my site. Three pins or Five pins or something else.

One person told me that I should go with three because at the moment of truth, five can get confusing.

Any thoughts???

If it helps the bow I'm setting up is made by Diamond, the model is "The Rock"

Thanks

3 would likely be fine to start with - one for 20, 30, and 40 yards. That being said, you'll likely find yourself wanting 5 once you've been shooting for a while. I have pins in 10 yard increments from 20-60 yards. I suppose if you're rushing a shot it might get confusing, but if you're controlled in your thoughts and actions (as you should be when you're about to shoot at an animal), it shouldn't be too much of a problem. The key, of course, is LOTS of practice.

That would depend on a few things. Arrow weight, draw weight (arrow velocity), not to mention range you will be shooting out too. My vote is go to a good archery store and try them out.

Quote Originally Posted by LuJon View Post
    That would depend on a few things. Arrow weight, draw weight (arrow velocity), not to mention range you will be shooting out too. My vote is go to a good archery store and try them out.

Draw weight will be max 80 lbs. I will set it up for 70 or 80. Arrow velocity for my bow is stated at up to 310 FPS. Range- I kind of figured 40 yds would be a good starting point for a maximum distance shot. Arrow weight- Not sure on the arrows, but my draw is 30" and I planned on setting up with 125 gr. heads. Does that help??

Brian, thanks for the insight, I will probably start with the three unless someone convinces me otherwise.

Default Option

I use a 5 pin site. I know some people who put little yardage labels on the site pin posts. Might be a good idea.

Default Pins