Thread: Best Fly Rod for Kenai Reds

Default Best Fly Rod for Kenai Reds

Hi. I'm new to the post. Can anyone recommend the best fly rod set up for the Kenai River fishing from the bank? Thanks

Default 8 wt

Alot of folks use an 8 wt; that 's what I have (and those that got me started flyfishing on that river).

don't get fancy - you want the fastest action 7 or 8 weight fly rod you can find because you'll be casting (flipping actually) about 1/2 ounce of weight into heavy current in most scenarios on the Kenai. Your rod will also take a beating because snagged fish (happens once in a while) head downstream and put a lot of pressure on your rod. I'd recommend a moderately priced fast action rod like the TFO TiCr X or TiCr, but you could get away with the Professional Series from TFO if you're on more of a budget. Any fast action rod will work, but it needs to be heavy enough to control a fish in heavy current (an 8 weight is ideal in my opinion).
    It roll my eyes when I see guys spend $500-800 on a fancy rod, then clamp on a big rubber core sinker and effectively take away any of the benefits of their expensive rod. You may find a scenario in which you can fish a sinking like with no weight like a fly rod is meant to be used, but this scenario is not commonplace oin the Kenai nor as effective.
    I'm sure you'll find various opinions regarding this question, but this is my feeling on the matter.
    www.akfishology.com

fishing isn't about life or death... it's more important than that.

Thanks. That's helpful. This seems to be a great & helpful forum.

9 foot 8 wt been using that for 26 years and love it
    Grandkids, Making big tough guys hearts melt at first sight

For flipping, I would just go to Freddies and pick up a Lamiglas. I've had one that I use for three seasons, which equals to whole lot of abusive hours. Cheap, Strong, Effective.

Fish On!
    http://www.youtube.com/growden1

Nothing makes a fish bigger than almost being caught.

Ugly Stick