Thread: Snowshoes

Default Snowshoes

Hello All,

I'd like some advice about snowshoes.
    I'm 220#+ gear, and would like to use the shoes for both recreational and hunting use.

I'll be in both open and brushy country. I'm not sure about water content of the snow. I'm sure there will be powder as well as hardpack. I like the "traditional" look but maybe technology is the way to go?

I know little, so any advice will get me started.

Thanks

Well, a bit of good news is that we're just about to launch a new snowshoe/backcountry skiing forum here in the next few weeks.

I'm no expert on snowshoes, but here is what I can tell you. Traditional snowshoes are great at keeping you afloat, but due to their size they can be tough to navigate in the thick brush. Furthermore, the new styles have cleats on the bottom that are worth their weight in gold when you get into icy conditions, especially on hills and mountains.

I have a pair of Tubbs that are 30" long. I like them pretty well, but when the snow is really light and fluffy I find myself wanting a bit more. I'd like to upgrade to the 36" model as soon as I can find a decent deal. The 36" is the one I would suggest to you. It should be enough to keep you afloat in most conditions, and easy enough to manuever in the brush. That being said, you should try them out before buying. Are you a member of REI? If so, they rent different models out to members pretty cheaply. They also have community demo nights from time to time in Anchorage. Check the outdoors section of the paper when the snow falls - they usually post the demo dates in there.

As for brands, I prefer the Tubbs because of their binding system - tough and very easy to use - but there are plenty of good brands out there.

Let me know if you have any other questions!

-Brian

Default Snowshoes