Thread: need mink advice

Default need mink advice

so this is my first time exclusively targeting mink. i have trapped for several years now and i am somewhat stumped. i have several streams that have a lot of mink nearby and i have put out 110 boxs and snares. over the first couple of days i caught 3 mink but then the weather got cold and all the streams are really freezing up fast and i have not had any success or even saw tracks. what should i do? will Mink hang around the unfrozen falls or will they seek out other areas? should i keep my current sets working in hopes that they will pass through the iced up areas.? any advice would be helpful.

Bristol Bay

once the water gets hard the mink will spend alot of time running the edges under the ice open beaver spillways are good places to look for sets as are old beaver houses. A lot of the time they will have holes in the tops or sides of these old beaver houses a 110 guarding the hole will do the job. Baited sets around open water baited with fish or other bait and a good mink lure will catch but it becomes much more of a waiting game once the open water is gone. A lot of the mink in my country will move out of the small streams during freeze up then move back up into them once the ice has set well. In addition other holes that they use to gain access to get under the ice can be set with a coni. I get alot of them at holes otter use in 220s but I miss some due to the size of the trap. missing mink is not a bother to me catching them prior to the otter coming thru and having a trap full of a mink instead of otter is very irritating to me
    meats meat don't knock it till you try it

Wasilla, Alaska