Thread: Sheep Hunting Packs?

Default Sheep Hunting Packs?

I know this has come up many times on the old forum, but I thought I'd bring it up again as newer packs are constantly being introduced. Theres Kifaru, Mystery Ranch, Dana Design internals and the discontinued externals, Gregory, Osprey, Badlands, and Eberlstock( if I missed one please throw it in there). I have been using a Dana Design External for several years both the Terraframe and the Longbed, I used the Terraframe for my first sheep hunt this year and my partner was using a Badlands. I tried his pack on and decided to make the switch as his was so much more comfortable than my external. I bought a Badlands 4500 which felt very good however I did not like the design of the bag where you stuff everything into one whole and have to dig everyting out when you need something. For example my spotter is buried in the pack , my rain gear is buried in the pack. I really liked the two rear long pockets my Terraframe had , one for spotter and the other for rain gear and snacks and such. I am now looking at a either a Mystery Ranch G6000 or picking up a used Dana Terraplane or Astralplane. Looking for advice from those who have used theirs and the likes and dislikes of them. I am also looking at the weights of the different packs as when your shaving so much weight for sheep hunting you dont want to make up for it with the extra 3lbs of pack weight. So throw your opinion and experience in here. Thanks.

Default Osprey

I used a Osprey Crescent 110 . awesome pack, packed out a entire sheep and gear at around 130+ lb bag and did great. Taylor at Wiggy's sells them if you want to check them out.

Default Kelty 50th Anniversary