Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: .338 Federal?

Default .338 Federal?

What do you all think of the .338 Federal? It looks to me like it could be a great multi purpose round, but I am no expert? Have any of you used it? Can the .308 brass hod enough powder to propel the bigger bullet effectively? ?Thanks in advance for any and all info and opinions.

Never used the 338 Federal but have done lots with the 358 Win which is one of my favorites. It does fine with the heavier bullets. Only concern I MIGHT have is that most 338 bullets were designed for 338 Mag velocities where as the 35 calibers were more designed for Whelen velocities. That said, seems that people using the 338 Federal like it.

Default very good

the 338 federal is one of the best in my opinion, at ranges where most animials are shot it is almost a balisti twin to the great 338 winchester except its much easier to shoot. i bought one last year and its my favorite round.

Quote Originally Posted by toby.davis1 View Post
    What do you all think of the .338 Federal? It looks to me like it could be a great multi purpose round, but I am no expert? Have any of you used it? Can the .308 brass hod enough powder to propel the bigger bullet effectively? ?Thanks in advance for any and all info and opinions.
    Hi Toby,

My experience is much the same as Storm56. I've got a 40 year history with the 358 and currently own 3 of them. If I didn't have them, I'd be grabbing a 338 Fed. Even so, if I find a Savage 99 in good shape but cheap enough I'll probably rebarrel it to 338 Fed.

It should handle heavy bullets just fine, but beware of the really heavily built ones intended for mag velocities if you plan to stretch the range.

Check back a few pages on this forum, on the reloading threads and on the hunting threads. There have been some very good discussions along with loads.

Quote Originally Posted by BrownBear View Post
    Hi Toby,