Thread: pre-season maintenance/RMK 700

Default pre-season maintenance/RMK 700

hello all!

just broke out my 01' RMK 700 from the depths of summer slumber...
    ... took the plugs out, cleaned em up, and the beast fired right to life!

looking to get into a friend's shop here sometime in the near future just to poke around the machine and check it out some... wondering if anyone out there has some good advice or cautions to look out for.

I bought this sled last year and put about 800mi on it... 2000mi total. It was running strong last April when I put it to rest... I'm still fairly new to snowmachine mechanics but willing to learn. I'd rather do some preventative maintenace this early than lose out on some good days riding when the snow flies!

hope this winter is bountiful to us all!
    cheers!

Tighten all skid bolts, grease all the zerks as well. Might be time to change out your clutch springs with new ones. Have fun. I've been working on my two 600RMK's as well, installing aftermarked products and such, changing out tracks. Trimmed one down to 1.5" or so and renotched the lugs as well. Still waiting on several more items like an SLP can I ordered almost a month ago! New clutch springs, heavier suspension springs as well.
    The emphasis is on accuracy, not power!

I'd open the chaincase and inspect it. Put the cover back on and refill with new lube. Grease everything. Take the belt off and clean the sheaves with a Scotchbrite pad. Remove the driven clutch and grease the bearings. and speedo drive. Make sure the drive clutch rollers spin. Don't lube them, it just collects dust and grit. Inspect the carb rubbers for cracks. Adjust track tension. Check all tie rod ends and make certain none of them are bent.

I would loosen up the track spin every wheel and listen for a grinding sound. If you find one you may be able to re greasy it.

I would also check the suspension for cracks.