Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Infection from Bears??

Default Infection from Bears??

Has anyone heard of this sort of thing?? Found this on an Alberta site that I check out.

"I thought that I would give this info out .I've been hunting for 25 yrs and this is the first for me .
    I have a good friend that was lucky enough to be invited on a Alaska brown bear hunt with his cousin as a spectator as his cousin would be the hunter .They killed a monster bear on the second day,and as would be the case the skining chores where shared by all.This is where the warning comes in .This particular bear was very old and he as also beat up,full of infections.2 days after the skinning my friends thumb started to swell and become very sore .Long story short he has to go in for antibiotics daily now ,his cousin was admitted to hospital this morning in Reno where he lives. They both have a severe infecton that has a few different names ,Bear finger,Bear hand ,Seal finger,Blubberfinger.There is very little info on this and they are having a hard time getting treatment that works.I as far as know they are being well looked after ,in the worst case amputation will occur to stop the blood poisioning .If anyone has info let me know and besure to be carefull when handling bears as we have found some cases in Alberta".

Default Oh yeah....

If you can find them there are some real ugly pictures of a guys hand on this site or Pristine Ventures. Serious stuff. I still don't wear gloves most of the time when I skin moose, caribou and bears, but I should. Not that they would help if I stuck my self with a knife.

Default Bear Finger...