Thread: Eating what you trap

Default Eating what you trap

I'm new to trapping and am planning to set out traps this weekend for marten. I was just wondering because I have never heard anything about marten meat. Is it any good? Does anyone eat them? Just curious.

"I Envy Him And Him Only, That Catches More Fish Than I Do" Izaac Walton 1653
    The question of hunting is not a matter of life or death... it's more important than that

Default No

No one that I know of eats marten, I know I never have. Marten doesn't even make very good bait.

Ted
    Pass it on, take a child hunting, fishing or trapping.

sure why dont you try it and let us know...lol

I agree, try it and report back.
    I can't help being a lazy, dumb, weekend warrior.......I have a JOB!
    I have less friends now!!

thats a big negative I dont think I will be the first to venture into that territory..sounds like i got my answer

The question of hunting is not a matter of life or death... it's more important than that

Wink Marten meat

In certain parts of the world muskrat is considered a delicacy. Marten half to be a cut above that. Come on be a leader and check it out for us.