Thread: Shrimping in PWS

Default Shrimping in PWS

Attention all boaters/ recreational shrimpers in PWS. The BOF has several agenda items coming up in December in Cordova (convienient huh?) regarding reopening commercial pot fishing for shrimp in PWS. I have been fishing out there for 20 years and prior to the closure to commercial pot shrimping due ot the exxon valdez spill, it was REALLY hard to find and concentrations of shrimp for sport. I pull all my gear by hand (over 2400' of rope per day) for my meager catch. Now Gordon Scott "Bent Nail" has suggested that commercial pot shrimping reopen because with no one fishing shrimp they will over populate and crash. This is a classic example of a greedy commercial fisher using bad science to justify his cause. Please comment or you will find empty pots instead of shrimp (which already happens enough due to theivery). Sport fishing for shrimp has nearly quadrupled since the tunnel opened and the BOF does not see sport fishing as a boost to the economy. Please comment on these proposals or FORGET about catching shrimp (oh this is also biased but well known by ADFG, sport fishers and even the commercial folks).

November 17
    Deadline for comments on the proposed regulation changes for the PRINCE WILLIAM SOUND AND UPPER COPPER/UPPER SUSITNA FINFISH AND DUNGENESS CRAB, SHRIMP, MISC. SHELLFISH FISHERY to be considered at the December 1 - 7. To see the agenda, go to http://www.boards.adfg.state.ak.us/fishinfo/meetinfo/2008-2009/pws-agenda08.pdf. Proposals are available at http://www.boards.adfg.state.ak.us/fishinfo/meetinfo/2008-2009/propbook/pws_proposals2.pdf.

Thanks for the update
    Living the Alaskan Dream
    Gary Keller
    Anchorage, AK

I don't think the Bent Nail has moved from the dock in years??? has it??

Alaska Shrimp Pots

Rigid & Folding Shrimp & Crab Pots
    Electra Dyne Pot Haulers
    Ropes, Buoys, Bait
    alaskashrimppots.com
    akshrimppots@mtaonline.net
    907 775 1692