Thread: Deckhand job

Default Deckhand job

Hi there

maybe this is the wrong place to put my thread however you guys might got the answer.

Im currently looking for a deckhand job in alaska. Could any of you provide a job bank link or forum where I can get further information.

thanks

What kind of deckhand job are you looking for?
    A commerical fishing one? a seasonal charter one? etc.
    I can probably point you in the right direction when it comes to charter fishing.....give me a heads up with what you really want.

-Ben

Just curious as i am not looking for a job but what does a deck hand on a good charter make a summer?

Quote Originally Posted by Stickle Back View Post
    What kind of deckhand job are you looking for?
    A commerical fishing one? a seasonal charter one? etc.
    I can probably point you in the right direction when it comes to charter fishing.....give me a heads up with what you really want.

-Ben
    well.. honestly I have no experience at all. So anything which is offshore would be alright for me, just not nothing like cleaning fish all day long. what is the difference between commercial and charter fishing?

Chao

Exclamation was that a "no" on fish cleaning?

if so might i suggest a lucrative advancement rich career at mickey D's.
    seriously, don't say "no" to anything if you want a deckhand job.
    charter or commercial, you get paid when you fish, but there is lots of "boatwork" that you have to do in order to fish....
    Alaska Board of Game 2015 tour... "Kicking the can down the road"
    http://www.alaskabackcountryhunters.org/

Default Deck Hand

Most boats that charter and have deck hands are certified. I am guessing that they make between $75 to $100 per day plus tips. In 2007 I broke my ankle so I hired a deck hand. It cost me 10% of the net which was the gross minus fuel& bait plus all the tips. She would make between $250 to $300 a day in tips.

Default 2nd what Dave said...