Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ice Auger-which is the best buy?

Default Ice Auger-which is the best buy?

I am gonna buy a gas powered ice auger and would like to find out which brand/model is the best buy for the money. I have never used one before so I don't know too much about them. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks

I like StrikeMaster but there are many good brands. Weight and auger size matter. What size species are you fishing for and are you snow machining or lugging it from your vehicle. Do you plan to "run and gun" or more stationary fishing? I think 8" in the 20-25 pound range is ideal. Just make sure parts are readily available.

Wyatt

Chugiak, Alaska, United States, United States

i have the eskimo shark z-71 and i love it. its big and heavy but it sure drills a nice 10 inch hole . there are lots of choices out there and i agree with wyatt on what it depends on. what species you are fishing, how much moving and how you are getting it around, and how much money you want to spend.

Default eskimo

i got the "cheap" one from sportsman's a few years ago and it has done well for me. i'm sure there are better augers, but i'm very satisfied with mine. i did have to buy some new parts this year and change the plugs. the ardisam (eskimo brand) web site has all the parts a guy needs, and they ship it quick. as far a "value" goes eskimo augers are good. of course there are better augers, but they cost more.

go get 'em.

n8r

Default Eskimo all the way!

I got mine in '95 or '96 and have used it hard every winter since. All I have had to do was sharpen the cutters, change the plug, and make a modification on the throttle trigger when it broke after snagging on a tree. Arnisdam makes/markets good stuff. And my Eskimo wife jokes that my Eskimo auger and my Eskimo ice tent are keeping it the Eskimo way!

Thumbs up Eskimo 8"