Thread: More ar questions

Default More ar questions

Well i finally pulled trigger on an AR build and ordered a kit from Del-Ton. Now i have some questions about reloading. since 223 is getting harder to come by and a 500% increase may be in our future im thinking about reloading. I bought a AR with 20" barrel with a 1 in 9" twist. Im wondering what weight bullet works best in the barrel? Imgoing to be predator hunting with it so I need to take that into consideration. Also there any special considerations that are different from a bolt action type rifle? Ive been over at AR15.com but to much crap to sift threw. Thanks Hillbilly

Cool

Hey Hillbilly. I have been reloading my 223's for several years now. I have an AR and a bolt rifle. I have loads that are best for each and some that are more than decent for both. I use either a 60 grain Hornady V-max or a 50 grain Nosler ballitic tip. I have a 6 x 24 mil-dot on the bolt and 300 yard hits are common. I put a dot reflex sight on the AR and it will roll yotes @ 100 yards with ease. Hope this helps ya.

Default Fur freindly

gunrman are either one of those bullets fur freindly? Thanks for the info. Hillbilly

HB, used to shoot a lot of coy dogs and fox in Montana with a 22-250. Found the best for least least fur damage was FMJ downloaded to a slower speed. Shoot then through the lungs, small entry and small exit hole. Might run a few feet before they figured out they were dead. This was before you could buy FMJ,s in a 22 round. Pulled bullets from M16 rounds.

A 20" 1/9 should handle everything from 45 gr to 69 gr without a hitch. If I were going to do a pred load I would consider a 69gr match grade BTHP for long range stuff.

Default thanks

Thanks for the info fellas. Hillbilly

Default delton

hey hillbilly how do you like your ar from delton?

i ordered one too and im very satisfied with the upgrades i got from them, and the price is unbeatable! thanks

Default Ranger