Thread: Lynx tips?

Default Lynx tips?

I have never trapped lynx, since there have only been 5 cought in the last 20yrs in the unit I trap in. When I was out getting my wolverine sets ready last weekend I saw some lynx tracks (possitive). Do cubbys work with 330s or are leg holds more effective or are snares the way to go. Lynx season don't open till Dec 1st and wolverine on nov10th, I don't want to catch him in a wolverine set before the season opens. On the other hand I can't wait till dec 1 to start trapping, Thats like waiting till Jan 25 for x-mass

Not that I'm a pro at this, but I set out cubbies with a #3 foothold. I used a grouse wing hanging about head high out in front of the cubbie and a grouse head as bait. I also used alaska lynx cat lure. They hit every cubbie before I got one and stole my bait. So make sure your cubbie is deep and they cant just reach in to the bait. I just learned that part LOL. Good luck!

Fairbanks most the time, Ancorage some of the time,& on the road Kicking Anti's all the time

Quote Originally Posted by F-16Pointy View Post
    Not that I'm a pro at this, but I set out cubbies with a #3 foothold. I used a grouse wing hanging about head high out in front of the cubbie and a grouse head as bait. I also used alaska lynx cat lure. They hit every cubbie before I got one and stole my bait. So make sure your cubbie is deep and they cant just reach in to the bait. I just learned that part LOL. Good luck!
    how do you keep martin or other samller critters from robbing you? i have a lynx tagging my trail now and would like to nail him..

at least i think its him.. i have several piles of scat under one tree on a regularly used SG trail... to small for wolf to big for fox... fulla bunny hair
    "If you are on a continuous search to be offended, you will always find what you are looking for; even when it isn't there."

meet on face book here

Quote Originally Posted by Vince View Post