Thread: Good jerky recipe for Buffalo?

Default Good jerky recipe for Buffalo?

Hello all,
    I am new to making jerky and looking for a recipe for Buffalo meat. So far my jerky has turned out only ok to blaa. Also have some venison I want to make into jerky too.

Any help would be great.

Check out this site lots of ggod stuff also

http://www.smokingmeatforums.com/forums/index.php
    PEOPLE SAY I HAVE A.D.D I DON'T UNDERSTA.....OH LOOK A MOOSE !!!

You're welcome to try my venison jerky recipe. I do this in a convection oven, but should work in a smoker.

Subject: Jerky Recipe

Smoked Venison Jerky

3-5 lb. venison
    1 cup soy sauce
    1 cup Worcestershire sauce
    1 cup apple or orange juice (I perfer apple)
    1/4 cup sugar (I use karo)
    1 T. liquid smoke
    1 1/2 tsp. garlic salt
    1/2 tsp. pepper (I use 1 tbsp.)
    1/2 tsp. mustard seed
    l tsp. mustard powder
    l tsp. onion powder
    3/4 tsp. garlic powder

Cut partially frozen meat into 1/4 inch slices being sure to cut with the
    grain for chewy jerky, against the grain for brittle jerky. Combine all
    ingredients and marinate meat in refrigerator overnight. Stir occasionally (I put it in the brine for 8 to 10 hours). Drain in sieve.

Arrange strips of meat on rack with newspaper underneath for dripping
    juices. Sprinkle black pepper on meat and then place meat in oven until meat is thoroughly dry, at l50 degree convection oven for 6 to 8 hours.)

This jerky recipe is easyÖ and I bet it would work well with Buffalo too.

Cut thin strips of meat across the grain anywhere from 3 inches to 6 inches long (I generally use good cut of moose or caribou so it wonít be too chewy even if overdried)

Marinate overnight in:

2 cups soy sauce
    1 cup brown sugar
    ľ cup dried minced onion (is using fresh, mince it fine so it wonít fall off)
    1 TBSP course black pepper

If you like garlic sprinkle some in
    If you like spicy, add red or cayenne pepper