Thread: A little help: ATV title & registration???

Default A little help: ATV title & registration???

Do I need a title or current registration to sell a 4wheeler?

My brother died this summer and I offered to sell his 4wheeler for his wife so she doesn't have to worry about it and so she can have some extra money.

She said she can't find the title, and I was assuming that you need one to sell the quad, but the DMV website says that AK doesn't issue titles for ATVs? Is that right?

It also said registrations are only REQUIRED on snowmachines... Seriously? Is that right, or did I miss something?

If ATVs aren't titled, or registered up here (I'm fairly new to AK), then what do I need to do to sell this quad? Will just a simple bill of sale suffice?

Thanks all.

BTW: Quad is a Suzuki King Quad (96 or 97) only 5xx miles, great condition, runs like new, asking $3500, all reasonable offers considered.

You have it right, ATVs are not require to have registration. It is only required for "snow vehicles" and then it is only required if you are riding on public property.

A bill of sale is all the paperwork you need (even that isn't required, but it makes sense).
    AKmud
    http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j96/AKmud/213700RMK1-1.jpg

The porcupine is a peacful animal yet God still thought it necessary to give him quills....

Default sweet, thanks...

That's awesome. I love Alaska.

Thanks...

Although we don't have ATV titles in AK, you can get something called a "Manufacturers Statement of Origin" (or it might be called a Mfrs Certificate of Origin) from the dealer (or probably even the manufacturer if you don't know who the original dealer was). It's a document that looks kind of like a title, and is useful when 1) registering it as a snowmachine, so that you can use the public groomed trails in the winter, or 2) selling it to someone who may eventually need to title it someplace else.