Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Caulked (corked) Boots for Hunting in SE

Default Caulked (corked) Boots for Hunting in SE

I've searched through the archives a bit for info about corking boots and haven't found much. The internet in general is pretty skimpy as well. So what are you SE hunters doing to your boots? I'm new to POW and am convinced corked boots are a going to be a must for hunting/hiking/firewood gathering etc. here. I'd prefer a good leather boot over xtra-tuffs. I'm currently using Lowa Sheephunters coupled with gaiters and this combination is doing good for water-proofness and ankle suport, but short on traction. Are there professional cobblers in SE that will cork these boots? Any do-it yourself recipes out there? Should I spring for the $275 Danners here in Craig that seem to be the only stock corked semi-decent leather boot I can find? Any advice is appreciated. Thanks.

Check out Hoffmans. Look under the "Logging boots" and I think you will find what you're looking for. They used to cork boots that people would send them too.

http://www.hoffmanboots.com/

Around here I mostly prefer the all rubber versions just because it's so darn wet all the time. A good compromise are the rubber bottom pack style with a leather upper for better ankle support. I don't generally hunt deer or goats around here without corks.

I'd also recommend Hoffman's. I got a pair from them, plus I have my extra-tuff corks.

My son and I were on POW this past weekend and nothing beats corks when on wet logs in the clearcuts.

My son has the same outfit, but he bought his in Craig.

Default another plug for hoffmans

IF I'm not in hip boots, I'm in my hoffman corked pac boots. Their suitability for our low elevation rainforest is obvious, but what really suprised me was how much i like them for alpine goat hunts. They really shine in those wet & icey conditions.

Hoffman's will caulk boots you send to them.