Thread: Next year's bookings re: the economy?

Default Next year's bookings re: the economy?

Do you guys think this year's sinking economy is going to hurt next year's booking for guides and cabins?

I can't see it as a good thing.

Your thoughts?
    brad g.
    So Cal, USA
    Visit my Sporting Clays website
    http://www.ysr-racer.com

I would say so. The wife and I are travel nurses working on Cape Cod. This is a big time vacation destination for yanks. This summer was much slower than last. Working as an ER nurse, I noticed a sharp decline in the "busy season". People have less expendable income. The first thing to go is vacations. The second is RV's, boats, motorcycles and such. Our home is North Carolina and we try to get up to Alaska about twice a year. But with the economy the way it is, we will only be coming up three times next year. I am not as smart as most though I suspect travel will be down in all areas in light of our unstable economy. Penny pinching time for many is at hand.
    The two loudest sounds known to man: a gun that goes bang when it is supposed to go click and a gun that goes click when it is supposed to go bang.

Default The converse is true too.

I normally go outside for a few weeks a year to the lower 48. While I haven't been laid off, and I don't think I will be, I don't know if I will be going anywhere this year either. Well, except fishing a lot in Homer, Seward, and Whittier because rumor has it there won't be anyone else in my "secret" fishing holes.....

Quote Originally Posted by ysr_racer View Post
    Do you guys think this year's sinking economy is going to hurt next year's booking for guides and cabins?

I can't see it as a good thing.

Your thoughts?