Thread: Why are they called compound?

Default Why are they called compound?

OK just for sake of discussion a cammed bow IMO is incorrectly named, compound. The word compound means "many" like an insects compound eye, so shouldn't the Penobscot multi limbed design really have the name? Aren't what we call "compound bows" really cammed bows? BTW in the interest of fairness I'm going to shoot a newer cammed bow next time I'm at the Den, cant debate against something I have no experience with.....and who knows maybe I'll be impressed.

The Penobscot design had as many as 3 sets of limbs linked via a continuous bow string.....I'll see if I can find a pic.
    BHA Member
    Bowyer to the forces of light in the land of the midnight sun.
    The 3 fold way: Every step we take as we walk through life effects, our family, our comunity and ourselves. One should walk thoughtfuly.

Here's a pic of a double limbed Penobscot
    Attached Images Attached Images
    BHA Member
    The 3 fold way: Every step we take as we walk through life effects, our family, our comunity and ourselves. One should walk thoughtfuly.

I think they are referred to as compound simply because the wheel/cam system "compounds" the effort used to pull it back (or to hold it back).
    AKmud
    http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j96/AKmud/213700RMK1-1.jpg

The porcupine is a peacful animal yet God still thought it necessary to give him quills....

Default just my thoughts

When you wrap a pulley multiple times it 'compounds' the force - so you don't have to pull as hard to lift it - a bit intuitive - and possibly why the early compounds were called such...

There were also some early model wheelie bows that had multiple wheels (weren't cams - they were round not oblong)....so multiple wheels would compound the power delivered to the arrow.... My first wheelie bow was such, a bear whitetail hunter I believe was the model.....kinda cool looking IMO.