Thread: Fire Lake, Eagle River

Default Fire Lake, Eagle River

Hi all,

I'm new to Alaska and ended up with a rental on Fire Lake in Eagle River. Although it's primarily an airstrip, I've seen reports that it was stocked with rainbows at one point.

Does anyone have any experience with ice fishing on Fire Lake? I've gone for bluegills and pike in Michigan plenty of times, but I have no idea what the story is in Alaska. Do you use tip-ups?

Thanks and tight lines.

theres pike in it and wild rainbows, mostly pike though... Try herring under a tip up
    I choose to fly fish, not because its easy, but because its hard.

There may be a few stocker rainbows with eyes in the back of their heads, a few huge bows with tooth marks on them, and pike. I caught a really nice landlocked salmon back in the 90s. I released it quick so it may still be in there.

Be wary of the outlet as it does not freeze well or fast.

You can catch some stockers and a few pike from there. It's worth drilling a hole and trying it in a month or so.

I have caught pike in the lake but no trout. Tip ups are the best bet once the lake ices up real good. Herring works well and night crawlers have brought in a few. There are plenty of other lakes close by that offer better ice fishing action. The pike have done a number on that lake.

That's great news. Thanks for the advice.