Thread: Utility Sled... Workers, Wood Haulers, Hunters Advise

Default Utility Sled... Workers, Wood Haulers, Hunters Advise

Greetings all,

I am hoping to get some help from you veteran Snowmobile riders.

I have been riding snowmobiles for about four years and am still learning much. Out of ignorance my first purchase was a 4 stroke machine a Yamaha 05' RX-1, then purchased an 07' Attack. I know I said out of ignorance I purchased 4 stroke but honestly mostly since that is all I have ever known I wouldn't have anything else. I have heard all the arguments and all the jokes about RX ton etc but in my experience thus far I get about 21 mpg and don't smell like I have been smoking exhaust, and as far as the weight is concerned stuck is stuck whether its 400+ lbs 500+lbs. Lastly if you compare the weight say between the Tundra LT 500F and LT V-800 there is only 39 lbs difference @almost 300 more cc's. But I said all this just to lay down some history for my next question.

I am now in the market for a snowmobile that is geared more towards the serious worker more so than the serious player. I have narrowed my choices down to three models to include the Tundra LT V-800, Scandic SWT V-800, and the new 09 Arctic Cat Bearcat Z-1 XT.

I really like the new Bearcat but I am reluctant because it is so new even though the motor and chasis have been out for a couple of years. I am not against the Ski Doo's but they have had a couple of recalls as of late.

My first question is about the service record of the brands themself. How do they hold up? In the area I live it is very secluded as a matter of fact I will have to get anything I buy shipped in and I do not have access to a local dealership so most of the work I do I will have to do myself.

My second question is about the different suspensions & chassis and how they compare.