Thread: smoking reds in the cold

Default smoking reds in the cold

Hello, I am in need of guidance by some of you more experienced fish smokers. Here is my problem. Now that the temperature has dropped outside to about 20 degrees, how long should I leave fish in my Big Chief before they are sufficiently cured for storage and consumption? All of the instructions that come with the smoker are assuming that the outside temperature is 70 degrees and we don't see that often up here. No, I do not have the insulating cover to put on the smoker. I am thinking about covering it with a heavy duty tarp to try to hold some heat in. Maybe I could put it outside for the smoking phase only and then move the operation into the carport to finish drying the fish at a warmer temperature? Any ideas? I know that I am not the first person to wonder about this. I'm new to smoking fish, but I did a pretty good job smoking fish this summer when the temperature was warmer. I smoked all of my Silver and King Salmon bellies. YUM! I wish I had more. I think I gained 15 pounds from eating so much fat, but it is soooo good.

Hurry my pellicals are about formed and I will not begin smoking untill I get a response!