Thread: Where to start? Hunt 08

Default Where to start? Hunt 08

Hello hunters,

Im new to Alaska and very interested in Float hunting. Ive seen some dvds and hopefully will bebable to do a hunt for moose next year.

Where should I start? Ive looked on some sites about hunt planners. Have any of you all used Pristine ventures or Lost creek? Would like some recommendations for planners, books, videos etc..

Who is the best? Would like to hear from anyone that has had experiences with any of the hunt planners mentioned.

Thanks,
    Moore

Default used both

I have used both and would recommend that you go with Lost Creek. The attention to detail and service is Great, contact Mike and get a copy of his book.

Click on one of the links that will guide you to the store for this web site. Plenty of books and movies that will help you. Michael Strahan posts here as well and also put out a VERY NICE float hunting book. I'm thinking most of your questions should be answered in that book.

Default hunt planners

I have used Pristine Ventures the past 5 yrs in a row. I have never had a problem with gear (its top notch). I have never had a problem with logistcs such as pilots & the like. Communication is great & both before & after the hunt. Pristine Ventures has always been spot on with reccomendations & realistic chance of success. I can only offer my view of Pristine Ventures as it the only one I have used. They really are a true wilderness adventure company & they are very good at what they do. They work very well with the buisnesses they use & I dont hear them talk down the competion,all in all a very profesional company. I have taken moose,caribou & wolf. Although I havent shot any moose the past few year its only because I want one bigger than the 2 60" that I have already(grin)